McLaren Mercedes - F1 Team Profile

McLaren Mercedes are a Formula One team that have consistently produced many Driver and Constructor championships over the many years of being in Formula One racing.

Starting out as Bruce Motor Racing Ltd, McLaren Mercedes joined F1 in 1963. The F1 team have gad some great success with the likes of Aryton Senna, Alan Post, Nicki Lauda, James Hunt, Mika Hakkinen and Lewis Hamilton all gaining driver constructors respectably.  

McLaren Mercedes are a team that are notorious for starting the F1 season poorly, often not benefiting from winter testing. When they turn up in Australia with a good car, you can expect them to win at least one of the championships. However, the deficit at the start of the season is usually too much too much for the team to recover which causes their first half to the season to be bad and the second half to be much better. With McLaren Mercedes being one of the larger teams in F1, you can always expect that their expertise will always push them towards challenging the championships.

McLaren Mercedes Facts and Figures

  • Name: McLaren Mercedes
  • Team Principal: Martin Whitmarsh 
  • Chief Technical Officer: Paddy Lowe
  • Drivers: Jenson Button, Sergio Perez
  • Nationality: British
  • Based In: Woking, United Kingdom
  • Driver Championships: 8
  • Constructor Championships: 8
  • Entered F1: 1963